Get my ebookwhen you subscribe to my free newsletter, Lynn's Kitchen Adventures.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Help Me Choose What To Read Next

Summer Reading 2018

Today we are changing it up and talking books instead of food.

It is no secret that I love to read. It is also no secret that my to read pile is huge. It is more like two to read shelves that have spilled over to a pile on the floor.

I am determined to tackle some of the books in my pile, but every time my pile gets smaller, I find more books that I want to read and the pile grows again. Any other readers have this problem?

Two years ago when I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by my to read pile I narrowed it down to a stack of books and asked you to help me narrow it down even more by asking what I should move to the top of the stack.

I hate to admit it, but a few books in the last are still on my to read list. However, thanks to that post I found one of my favorite books of 2016, which was The Glass Castle. Many of you told me it was a must read and I moved it to the top of the list. I am so glad I did. It was a great book!

Summer Reading

Over the last few weeks I have felt a little bit overwhelmed by my to read pile. I want to choose a few books from it to read this summer, but can’t decide which ones to read first.

So, I decided that I would once again turn to you to ask for help. Many of my readers love reading as much as I do, so I am hoping that you can help me figure out what I should read this summer.

Have you read any of these books? Are any of them in your to read stack? Do you have a suggestion for what I should read next?

Summer Reading 2018

You might notice that although I have a few fiction books on the list, most of them are nonfiction. That is because I prefer nonfiction. I read fiction, but most of the time I read mainly nonfiction.

I can’t wait to hear what  you think I should read this summer! Please leave a comment letting me know!

 

Lynn's Kitchen Adventures

Comments

  1. My husband read Luther and loved it. But he loves anything about Martin Luther.

    • I am glad to know that he enjoyed it. I read a review about it online and it sounded really interesting, and I enjoy read Eric Metaxas, but I haven’t anyone to actually read the Martin Luther one. So thank you!

  2. I really enjoyed the Sound of Gravel. I find most polygamist/Mormon books interesting. I think you will like it since you really liked The Glass Castle.

    • Have you read Educated? I read that one a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. It is a lot like The Glass Castle too. Several people have told me that The Sound of Gravel was good so I think I will move that one to the top of the pile to read this summer.

  3. Melanie says:

    Lonesome Dove is my absolute favorite book of all time (for reference, I’m a lifelong reader so that’s a pretty hefty statement). It is not my usual genre and probably the only Western I will ever read. I read it on recommendation from a book blogger. It is a very good story but more than that the language is just exquisite. It is really amazing.

    • Thanks! I think the size of it is what keeps me from actually picking it up and reading it. I have heard great things about it. My daughter, who loves westerns hasn’t read it yet either. I think both of us need to move it to the top of the to read pile for summer!

  4. I recommend The Killers of Flower Moon especially since you live in OK. I was dumbfounded by the way the Osage Indians were treated. It is well written and documented.

    • Thanks! My daughter read it and enjoyed it and several readers have said that I need to read it, so I think I will move that one to the top of my to read list.

  5. Susan McDonald says:

    Killers of the Flower Moon. I agree with everything Donna said. I was astounded by what I was never aware of in our history.

    • My daughter read it and really enjoyed it too. I think that one is going to have to move to the top of my list. Thanks!

  6. I read Mrs. Lincoln’s Rival and loved it. It explains more about Civil War politics and President Lincoln’s cabinet while being a very interesting read. Jennifer Chiaverini is one of my favorite authors.

  7. Suzanne says:

    The book that stands out to me on your list and that I also want to read, would be “Code Girls.”

    • I recently read Rocket Girls and really enjoyed it. Code Girls looks just as good. I am hoping to get it read soon! There are so many good books to choose from!

  8. Probably my favorite reads ever are – To Kill a Mockingbird, Lonesome Dove, Sacagawea by Anna Waldo , and Mountain Man (by Vardis Fisher).. I love historical fiction and although they are fiction, they are really all very good. I have read each of these several times and don’t usually read books twice. I’ll look for the books you suggested here. Summer is a such great time for good reading! Thanks!

Share Your Thoughts

*

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.