Get my ebookwhen you subscribe to my free newsletter, Lynn's Kitchen Adventures.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Gluten Free Licorice

Do you miss licorice since going gluten free? Did you know that there is a gluten free licorice?

gluten free black licorice

When I first went gluten free I had no idea how hard it would be to find gluten free licorice. And really I had no idea licorice even had wheat in it.

When I found out it had wheat in it, it was one of those, really it does I can’t believe it, type of moments. I never even thought about the fact that licorice might contain wheat until I couldn’t have gluten.

Gluten Free Red Licorice -_

You see I LOVE red licorice. And I am picky about my licorice. I only like the red kind. Not black. Not twizzler style. Not cherry. I am talking the red vines kind that comes in the blue box or wrapper.

My family can tell you how much I love red licorice. Back during my teen years lunch was often a Dr. Pepper and a rope of licorice. Yes, I cringe at the thought, but I was a teenager, what can I say. It was not the healthiest of lunches, but it sure was good. 🙂

My love of red licorice continued as an adult, although it became a treat instead of lunch. That is until I went gluten free and discovered that I could no longer have it.

Gluten Free Red Licorice

So, I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I was to find that Gimbal’s Fine Candies makes a gluten free red licorice. They make a black licorice that is great if you love black, but again red licorice is my choice.

And this red licorice is so very close to the real thing. Really it taste so much like the real stuff. The texture is a bit different and it is in the shape of a scottie dog, but I can’t tell you how happy I was when I tasted it. This stuff is good!

I love Gimbal’s Candies. They are all free of dairy, nuts, peanuts, soy, gluten, eggs, and fish. Basically they are free of the top allergens. And when you deal with nut allergies and gluten issues, it is nice to find candy that is safe to enjoy.

gluten free black licorice

They also sell a gluten free black licorice that is really good if you like black licorice.

Now, I will totally admit this gluten free licorice is not cheap. Nor is it healthy. But it is a treat. Something I buy once or twice a year.

I just bought a big bag of it, as in a five pound bag of it, and put it into small zip top bags to portion it out and make it last longer. An open bag of licorice is a dangerous thing in my house.

You can order the red licorice straight from Gimbal’s or it is available through Amazon. Have any of you tried this gluten free licorice?

Note: This is not a sponsored post and I was not paid to write it. I love this gluten free candy and knew there were others that missed licorice as much as I did. The link for Amazon is an affiliate link, but I am receiving nothing from Gimbal’s for writing this. 



Lynn's Kitchen Adventures
Lynn's (Gluten Free) Kitchen Adventures

Get additional gluten-free information from Lynn's Kitchen Adventures delivered to your inbox for free!


  1. So glad you found it.
    I prefer the black and cannot have it due to an allergy to anice, also known as fennel.

    • Anise and Fennel are not the same things. Both are also distinct from licorice.
      That said, read the ingredients very carefully, as (i’m told) all three have the licorice taste.

  2. Thanks for the article. I just started looking for GF stuff for my wife. This information helps.
    However…. wife also requires tapioca free which seems to be a major problem when it’s GF.
    Also: Soy. Due to many factors, soy is not acceptable due to health issues.
    So, have you found any licorice that is also soy and tapioca free?
    (She prefers black)

    • I believe Gimnbals is free of soy since they are free of the top allergens. I have found the company to be really helpful, so I think they would answer any question about ingredients like tapioca.

      • I phoned Gimbal’s and got a very helpful lady who researched my concerns.
        The list of ingredients does not contain tapioca, and it’s posted on their website that the red scottie licorice is soy free.

        Thanks for your help.

  3. Oh wow, this makes me so happy! I loved Red Vines, but because of my Celiac Disease, I can’t have them. I’ll definitely have to give these a try, also, try Carousal Taffy at They have Red Licorice Taffy that almost tastes EXACTLY like Red Vines, but taffy. Also gluten-free. 🙂

    • I am glad I could help. I miss red vines and was so happy when I found these. I also love taffy so I will have to check that out. Thanks!

Share Your Thoughts


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.